Ayreon to release Electric Castle Live And Other Tales

Ayreon's Arjen Lucassen
Ayreon's Arjen Lucassen (Image credit: Music Theories Recordings/Mascot Label Group)

Ayreon (opens in new tab) will document their 2019 four-night stint at Tilburg’s 013 with a new package titled Electric Castle Live And Other Tales.

After three sold out Ayreon Universe appearances at the venue in 2017, Arjen Lucassen brought together the majority of musicians who appeared on 1998's Into The Electric Castle for the extravaganza, which saw the album performed in its entirety.

The new package will be released on March 27 through Music Theories Recordings/Mascot Label Group on 3LP/2CD and DVD/Blu-ray.

Lucassen says: “Because it was the 20th anniversary of the album, and we’d just remixed and re-released it, we figured it was the perfect moment to perform this live.

“The Ayreon Universe shows were such a fantastic experience for everyone involved, and I’d had loads of requests for more live shows, so we decided to perform the entire Electric Castle album back at the 013, and also play one track from each of my side projects billed as ‘Other Tales’.”

To mark the news, Ayreon have released live footage of Garden Of Emotions which can be watched below, where you can also find the cover art, tracklist and pre-order details.

Ayreon will headline the Saturday evening at this year's XV Night Of The Prog Festival (opens in new tab) which will take place on July 17 - 19 July 2020 on the festival grounds of the Loreley Amphitheater in St. Goarshausen, Germany.

Ayreon: Electric Castle Live And Other Tales (opens in new tab)

Ayreon: Electric Castle Live And Other Tales (opens in new tab)
Ayreon performed over four nights at Tilburg's 013 venue last year to celebrate their Into The Electric Castle album, with the musical spectacle captured for this new release.

Ayreon: Electric Castle Live And Other Tales
1. Welcome to the New Dimension
2. Isis and Osiris 
3. Amazing Flight
4. Time Beyond Time
5. The Decision Tree
6. Tunnel of Light
7. Across the Rainbow Bridge
8. The Garden of Emotions
9. Valley of the Queens
10. The Castle Hall
11. Tower of Hope
12. Cosmic Fusion
13. Robby Valentine
14. The Mirror Maze
15. Evil Devolution
16. The Two Gates
17. Forever of the Stars
18. Another Time, Another Space
19. Shores of India
20. Ashes
21. Out In The Real World
22. Twisted Coil
23. Kayleigh
24. Pink Beatles in a Purple Zeppelin
25. Songs of the Oceans

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.