Watch Barren Earth’s dark video for new track The Ruby

Barren Earth
Barren Earth (Image credit: Vesa Ranta)

Barren Earth have shared their video for new track The Ruby exclusively with Prog.

The song has been taken from the Finnish outfit’s upcoming album A Complex Of Cages, which is due to arrive on March 30 via Century Media.

Vocalist Jón Aldará tells Prog: “This song concerns the inability to feel empathy for others or to care about the effects of one’s actions.

“It is seen through the mind of a person who is locked inside that isolating condition, while still wishing to fit into society and connect with others. In this instance, the ruby is a metaphor for an un-living, impenetrable heart.”

The video was directed by Vesa Ranta, who, along with his film and photography work, is also the drummer in Finnish band Sentenced.

Aldará adds: “With the video, Vesa has tried to capture a quite simplistic, closed-in feeling to represent the concept of the song, but at the same time used the classic ‘band playing’ format, since this is the closest thing to a straightforward rocker that Barren Earth has ever made.”

Barren Earth have two live shows in Finland scheduled over the coming weeks. They’ll play at Helsinki Kuudes Linja on March 30 and then at Tampere’s Yo-talo Saarihelvetti Easter Bash on April 1.

Find the artwork and tracklist for A Complex Of Cages below.

Barren Earth A Complex Of Cages tracklist

  1. The Living Fortress
  2. The Ruby
  3. Further Down
  4. Zeal
  5. Scatterprey
  6. Solitude Pith
  7. Dysphoria
  8. Spire
  9. Withdrawal

Barren Earth - A Complex Of Cages album review

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.