Watch Carptree video for Fleeting Deep


Carptree have released a video for their new track Fleeting Deep.

It’ll feature on the Swedish duo of keyboardist Carl Westholm and vocalist Nicklas Flinck’s upcoming eight-track, sixth album titled Emerger, which is due out on April 7 via Reingold Records.

The band say in a statement: “This album was a really slow starter. We started in 2014 with some of the songs, the first two song were Fleeting Deep and Ultimately Lifeless, which both have taken a lot of different shapes along the process.

Between Extremes is also a song that has been around in different shapes for many years. We first recorded it in 2009, but were not happy and cut it down to a short version which ended up on 2010’s Nymph as Between Extremes (Prelude).”

Westholm and Flinck are joined on Emerger by the No Future Orchestra, who are comprised of a “loosely connected group of musicians very important to Carptree.” Drummer Jesper Skarin makes his debut in the orchestra for the new release.

Further album details will be revealed in due course, while a short video of the band recording Emerger can be watched below.

The Emerger cover

The Emerger cover
Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.