Tesseract’s Daniel Tompkins shares video for his new solo single Limitless

Daniel Tompkins (Image credit: Steve Brown)

Tesseract frontman Daniel Tompkins has released a video for his new single Limitless.

It’s taken from his upcoming solo album Castles, which will arrive on May 31 through Kscope. Tompkins revealed the first song from the album, Saved, featuring his Tesseract bandmate, guitarist Acle Kahney last month.

The vocalist says Limitless “explores the theme of loneliness and desperation,” adding: “In our romantic relationships we can all make mistakes at some point or another, often we’re able to navigate difficult times but sometimes we can cause irreparable damage. 

Limitless is experienced through the eyes of a person having lost such a relationship, aimlessly wandering and constantly reaching dead ends. 

“Sometimes it’s better to simply reset, move on and start again without the baggage of the past. That being said, the outcome of the decisions we make will shape the people we become and while memories fade, they’re never truly erased.”

Tompkins travelled to Milwaukee for the Limitless video shoot and worked once again with directors Steven Cleavland and Kyle Kadow, who he’s been involved with in the past with both Tesseract and Zeta.

Tompkins says: “They created such incredible visuals for those projects and have great working relationships with local actors. 

“Interestingly, both the male lead actors seen in the Causeway video were also featured in Tesseract’s King video, as we thought that would be a nice link.

“Plus they are incredible actors. The elder male lead, Timothy Barnes, also features in Limitless.”

Daniel Tompkins: Castles
1. Saved
2. Black The Sun
3. Castles
4. Kiss
5. Limitless
6. Cinders
7. Telegraph
8. Black The Sun (Head Rework)
9. Limitless (feat. Dmitry Stepanov)
10. Kiss (feat. Randy Slaugh)
11. Saved (feat. Acle Kahney)
12. Saved (feat. Paul Ortiz)
13. Saved (feat. Randy Slaugh)

Daniel Tompkins: Castles

Daniel Tompkins: Castles
Tesseract frontman Daniel Tompkins will release his new solo album Castles in May through Kscope. The record features the lead tracks Saved and Limitless.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.