Dream The Electric Sleep launch Flight video

A still from the Flight video
A still from the Flight video

Dream The Electric Sleep have launched a video for their track Flight exclusively with Prog.

The song features on the US outfit’s upcoming third album Beneath The Dark Wide Sky, which is out on July 22 via Mutiny records.

The video was animated and directed by LA Watson, who reveals it was inspired by the “ecological crisis” currently facing the planet.

Watson says: “The conceptual and visual theme came from thinking about the environmental damage that was caused by the American Dust Bowl of the 1930s. I wanted to draw connections between this moment to the current ecological crisis our planet is facing today.

“The events of the Dust Bowl can be seen as a forewarning that illustrates the devastating consequences of irresponsible farming practices.

“Today, we are seeing a similar situation with honeybee populations that are suffering from colony collapse due in part to pesticide applications. This not only hurts bees, but also puts our entire food supply at risk. I thought it could be interesting to animate a bee trying to navigate through an apocalyptic past/future.”

The band previously issued a video for Let The Flood Light In and have a handful of live dates planned for next month.

Dream The Electric Sleep Beneath The Dark Wide Sky tracklist

  1. Drift
  2. Let The Light Flood In
  3. Flight
  4. We Who Blackout The Sun
  5. Hanging By Time
  6. Culling The Herd
  7. The Last Psalm To Silence
  8. The Good Night Sky
  9. Headlights
  10. Black Wind
  11. All Good Things

Tour Dates

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Saturday, August 6, 2016 at 8:00PMV ClubHuntington, United States
Saturday, August 20, 2016 at 9:00PMCosmic Charlie'sLexington, United States
Saturday, August 27, 2016 at 8:00PMThe BasementNashville, United States

Limelight: Dream The Electric Sleep

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.