Asia to release deluxe live in Asia box set - watch video for Here Comes The Feeling

Asia with Greg Lake 1983
(Image credit: Adrian Boot)

A 2LP/2CD box set, Asia In Asia – Live At The Budokan, Tokyo, 1983 is due out via BMG on June 10. The bumper package includes a 40-page book and memorabilia from the multi-platinum selling band's historic shows. The album will also be available in standard double LP, 1CD and digital formats.

Asia's Japanese shows came at the end of two years of touring to promote their 1982 self-titled debut and 1983 follow-up, Alpha. They were significant in that they included special guest Greg Lake, who stepped in at short notice to replace founder member John Wetton, who unexpectedly quit just before the shows.

Says drummer Carl Palmer of his former ELP bandmate, “Greg Lake did a great job jumping into John’s shoes. So many songs to sing, he did it so well. It was impressive."

Keyboard player Geoff Downes remembers, “It was a grand and sumptuous affair. The stage was the iconic ‘A-frame’ shape we had for the US tour. I think we pulled it off admirably in the end. There were some good people behind us: crew, lighting designers, cameramen and backing singers, it was quite a production."

He adds that the live recording, "deserves its place in the Asia catalogue. Aside from its musical strengths, it demonstrates the level of professionalism that we have always striven [sic] to bring to the Asia name.” 

Asia played three shows at Budokan Arena in Tokyo in December 1983 - the second of which made history as the first live broadcast between Japan and MTV in America. This release marks the first time that the performance has been available on CD and vinyl.

The new box set includes: exclusive new artwork by Roger Dean; colour vinyl of the original MTV Telecast concert audio, remixed 2022 from the master tapes, with two previously unreleased, post broadcast encore tracks; audio CDs comprising the MTV satellite telecast concert (December 6, 1983, USA time) and the previous night's show (December 6, 1983, Japanese time); audio-visual Blu-ray of the restored original broadcast concert with 2022 remixed audio plus restored original concert laserdisc featuring alternate camera angles; 40-page 12" book with rare and unseen band photos, memorabilia and new sleeve notes; and a bespoke metal and enamel Asia logo pin badge.

Watch the live video for Here Comes The Feeling below.

The vinyl is now available to pre-order.

Meanwhile, Asia are currently preparing for their upcoming 2022 tour.

Buy the latest issue of Prog Magazine.

Asia In Asia – Live At The Budokan, Tokyo, 1983 Tracklist

1. Introduction From Mark Goodman (MTV)
2. Time Again
3. The Heat Goes On
4. Here Comes The Feeling
5. Eye To Eye
6. Steve Howe Solo (Sketches In The Sun)
7. Only Time Will Tell
8. Open Your Eyes
9. Geoffrey Downes Solo (Ihiri - The Setting Sun / Bolero)
10. The Smile Has Left Your Eyes
11. Wildest Dreams
12. Carl Palmer Solo
13. Heat Of The Moment
14. Sole Survivor
15. Cutting It Fine
16. Daylight

Asia In Asia exploding packshot

(Image credit: BMG)
Natasha Scharf
Deputy Editor, Prog

Contributing to Prog since the very first issue, writer and broadcaster Natasha Scharf was the magazine’s News Editor before she took up her current role of Deputy Editor, and has interviewed some of the best-known acts in the progressive music world from ELP, Yes and Marillion to Nightwish, Dream Theater and TesseracT. Starting young, she set up her first music fanzine in the late 80s and became a regular contributor to local newspapers and magazines over the next decade. The 00s would see her running the dark music magazine, Meltdown, as well as contributing to Metal Hammer, Classic Rock, Terrorizer and Artrocker. Author of music subculture books The Art Of Gothic and Worldwide Gothic, she’s since written album sleeve notes for Cherry Red, and also co-wrote Tarja Turunen’s memoirs, Singing In My Blood. Beyond the written word, Natasha has spent several decades as a club DJ, spinning tunes at aftershow parties for Metallica, Motörhead and Nine Inch Nails. She’s currently the only member of the Prog team to have appeared on the magazine’s cover.