Watch Mysteries Of The Revolution's cosmic sci-fi video for Starbird Chasing The Infinite

Daniel Biro montage 2022
(Image credit: Press)

Mysteries Of The Revolution release their long-awaited second album, Longing For The Dawn, on May 13 via Burning Shed. It's the jazz-rock project's first album in 14 years and is packed with nine instrumentals - including new single Starbird Chasing The Infinite - that take inspiration from Mahavishnu Orchestra, Soft Machine and Weather Report.

The group's mainstays are keyboardist/composer Daniel Biro - who teamed up with Camel's Colin Bass for 2020's Still - and multi-instrumentalist BB Davis (drums, flute, vocals). Their second album also includes guest appearances from Neapolitan guitarist Vincenzo Lamagna, bassist Andy Alexander, Don Stuart (alto flute) and Russ Parker on guitars.

Says Biro, “Our aim was, yes, to evoke those heroic days of 70s jazz-rock with its burning electric energy and guru-led grandeur, but mainly we wanted to inhabit the spirit of risk-taking and adventure that those artists inhabited. People like Zawinul, Corea, McLaughlin, Zappa, Hancock were great players but also fabulously original composers who went beyond categories and genres. With this album I think we’ve reached our peak. We’ve put all our ideas and soul into these tracks.”

The album, which is dedicated to the memory of their close friend and bassist Mark Smith, is packaged with artwork by Davis. It's also available in a limited collector's edition with individually hand-painted, signed and numbered CD sleeves.

Watch the video for Starbird Chasing The Infinite below!

Buy the latest issue of Prog Magazine.

Longing For The Dawn Tracklist

1 You Turn Me On (Biro/Davis) [8:43]
2 One Whisper (Biro) [6:06]
3 Heavy On Karma (Biro) [6:12]
4 Longing For The Dawn (Biro) [5:18]
5 Babylon Everything (Biro/Davis) [4:47]
6 Joe (Biro) [7:22]
7 Starbird Chasing The Infinite (Biro) [5:15]
8 The Distance Between Us (Biro) [6:20]
9 Pharoah's Scribbled Phantasms (Biro/Davis). [11:17]

BB Davis album artwork for the limited edition of Mysteries Of The Revolution

A selection of BB Davis' limited edition, hand-painted sleeves (Image credit: Press)
Natasha Scharf
Deputy Editor, Prog

Contributing to Prog since the very first issue, writer and broadcaster Natasha Scharf was the magazine’s News Editor before she took up her current role of Deputy Editor, and has interviewed some of the best-known acts in the progressive music world from ELP, Yes and Marillion to Nightwish, Dream Theater and TesseracT. Starting young, she set up her first music fanzine in the late 80s and became a regular contributor to local newspapers and magazines over the next decade. The 00s would see her running the dark music magazine, Meltdown, as well as contributing to Metal Hammer, Classic Rock, Terrorizer and Artrocker. Author of music subculture books The Art Of Gothic and Worldwide Gothic, she’s since written album sleeve notes for Cherry Red, and also co-wrote Tarja Turunen’s memoirs, Singing In My Blood. Beyond the written word, Natasha has spent several decades as a club DJ, spinning tunes at aftershow parties for Metallica, Motörhead and Nine Inch Nails. She’s currently the only member of the Prog team to have appeared on the magazine’s cover.