Watch Metallica making Hardwired video

James Hetfield on set

Metallica have released behind-the-scenes footage that details the making of their video for latest track Hardwired.

The promo was shot last month in a high school gymnasium with co-director and producer Colin Shane Hakes, who helped develop a one-take concept.

The band say: “Metallica descended on the space to shoot a real ‘smash-and-grab’ first video for the forthcoming album Hardwired…To Self-Destruct.

“This video was to be one take. One shot. No edits. No nip, no tuck. One continuous shot captured by the camera going counter-clockwise around the performing band, with the song’s chaos and energy being reflected by a strobe-like lighting effect, making it look like a series of disorienting fast edits – but, in truth, being nothing of the sort.”

Metallica’s 10th album is released on November 18. Frontman James Hetfield recently revealed the work only truly came together in the past two months, despite having been under production for several years. They’re planning to commence touring duties in January.

Metallica: Hardwired… To Self-Destruct tracklist

Disc 1

  1. Hardwired
  2. Atlas, Rise!
  3. Now That We’re Dead
  4. Moth Into Flame
  5. Am I Savage?
  6. Halo On Fire

Disc 2

  1. Confusion
  2. Dream No More
  3. ManUNkind
  4. Here Comes Revenge
  5. Murder One
  6. Spit Out The Bone

The Hardwired... To Self-Destruct cover

The Hardwired... To Self-Destruct cover

Metallica and Jason Newsted in project talks

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.