Skip to main content

The Enid release Someone Shall Rise video

The Enid have released a video for the track Someone Shall Rise.

It features on the band’s upcoming album Dust, due out on April 1 – the final part of a trilogy which began with 2010’s Journey’s End and continued with 2012’s Invicta.

Frontman Joe Payne says: “With Robert Godfrey taking a step back, this song and video represent a huge step forward for the rest of us as a band.

Someone Shall Rise is a perfect example of the direction we’ll be taking beyond the Godfrey years – it’s very us.

“The video was filmed at the Holy Sepulchre in Northampton, UK, a symbol of rebirth which we felt to be both beautiful and controversial for a song which can be interpreted as illusively spiritual and political.”

Godfrey sparked controversy earlier this week when he criticised the current state of progressive music, prompting Prog magazine editor Jerry Ewing to respond. Godfrey later said he was “utterly dedicated” to seeing a new wave of artists emerge.

The Enid Dust tracklist

  1. Born In The Fire
  2. Someone Shall Rise
  3. Monsters
  4. 1000 Stars
  5. When The World Is Full
  6. Trophy
  7. Heavy Hearts

Scott looks after Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 25 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, writer and reviewer and joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more. Scott has previous written for publications including the Daily Record, Sunday Mirror, The Herald and IGN covering everything from news and features, to video games and whisky.