Swallow The Sun share video for Firelights

(Image credit: Jussi Ratilainen)

Earlier this month, Swallow The Sun revealed Upon The Water – the first taste of their new album When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light.

The follow-up to 2015’s Songs From The North I, II & III will arrive next Friday (January 25) via Century Media Records – and the band have wasted no time in giving fans another track from the album, with a video for the song Firelights.

Swallow The Sun say: “From the ultimate depths of Lumina Aurea, we rose upon the water. Now it is time to light the first torches in the night. Death might be stronger than life, but love is always stronger than death. This is Firelights!”

Swallow The Sun have several live shows planned for next month and have also just announced a North American tour with Children Of Bodom, Wolfheart, Summer’s Circle, Hollow Cry and Fragmentum.

When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light is now available for pre-order.

Swallow The Sun: When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light
1. When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light
2. The Crimson Crown
3. Firelights
4. Upon The Water
5. Stone Wings
6. Clouds On Your Side
7. Here On The Black Earth
8. Never Left

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.