Philip Selway releases lyric video for new song Check For Signs Of Life

Philip Selway
(Image credit: Phil Sharp)

Radiohead drummer Philip Selway has released a lyric video for brand new song Check For Signs Of Life, which you can watch below.

It's taken from Selway's upcoming album Strange Dance, which will be released through Bella Union on February. It's the folow up to Selway's soundtrack to the movie Let Me Go which was released in 2017.

“The scale of it was very deliberate for me, from the outset,” he says of the new album. “I wanted the soundscape to be broad and tall but somehow get it to wrap around this intimate vocal at the heart of it”.

Strange Dance has been produced by Marta Salogni and features guest appearances from Portishead's Adrian Utley, cellist Laura Moody, Hannah Peel and Valentina Magaletti , while the artwork has been created by abstract painter Stewart Geddes who spent time in the studio, and created a spectacular series of impressionistic paintings in response to the music.

“One of the things I’ve liked about this record is it’s me as a 55-year-old not trying to hide that fact,” says Selway. “It feels kind of unguarded rather than seeing that ageing process as something that needs to be hidden. I wanted it to have that space so if you’re listening to it you can lose yourself in it. Almost like a refuge.”

Pre-order Strange Dance.

Philip Selway

(Image credit: Bella Union)

Philip Selway: Strange Dance
1. Little Things
2. What Keeps You Awake At Night
3. Check For Signs Of Life
4. Picking Up Pieces
5. The Other Side
6. Strange Dance
7. Make It Go Away
8. The Heart Of It All
9. Salt Air
10. There’ll Be Better Days

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.