Skip to main content

Listen to title track from Virgil & Steve Howe’s Nexus album

Virgil and Steve Howe
Virgil and Steve Howe

The first song from Nexus – the upcoming album from Steve Howe and his late son Virgil has been released.

It’s the title track from the record, which will launch on November 17 via InsideOut Music and comes after 41-year-old Virgil died unexpectedly in September.

Steve Howe says: “On most of the tracks on the album I stick to one featured guitar per track, but on Nexus I use a dual guitar approach.

“I start by playing my favourite Gibson ES175D but then move over to a single neck Fender Professional Steel, which has two pick-ups, then I move back and forwards between them.

“The structure of this track demonstrates Virgil’s melodic and rhythmic approach, which came about by him learning to play and make music ‘by ear’ utilising his keyboards and drums to invent his own writing style.”

Last week, the Yes guitarist said he hoped Nexus would be a “fitting tribute” to his son.

Howe added: “His talents were multi-diverse, so sitting at a keyboard and computer or in the middle of his drum kit, at all his regular DJ-ing gigs or on the radio, he always gave his best.”

Find the Nexus cover art and tracklist below.

Virgil And Steve Howe Nexus tracklist

  1. Nexus
  2. Hidden Planet
  3. Leaving Aurura
  4. Nick’s Star
  5. Night Hawk
  6. Moon Rising
  7. Passing Titan
  8. Dawn Mission
  9. Astral Plane
  10. Infinite Space
  11. Freefall

Sir Richard Bishop picks Yes maestro Steve Howe as his prog hero

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.