Skip to main content

Swallow The Sun release live video of haunting instrumental 66°50'N, 28°40'E

Swallow The Sun
(Image credit: Swallow The Sun)

Finnish prog metal sextet Swallow The Sun have released a live video for the haunting instrumental 66°50'N, 28°40'E which you can watch below.

Originally taken from 2015's suitably epic triple album Songs From The North I, II & III, this new live version is taken from the band's upcoming live album entitled 20 Years of Gloom, Beauty and Despair – Live in Helsinki, which will be released through Century Media on July 30. You can see the album tracklisting below.

"We were supposed to play anniversary shows in Europe and North America,” says vocalist Mikko Kotamäki. “We started our European tour in Finland in February 2020 and played 10 gigs. Everything got canceled two weeks after that. Luckily, we filmed and recorded our gig in Helsinki. Now, everyone can see it. At the time, we didn't know the footage or recordings would be used for this purpose.”

20 Years Of Gloom, Beauty And Despair – Live in Helsinki will be available as Ltd. edition vinyl, a 2CD+DVD Digipak, Gatefold 3LP+DVD and as digital album.

The vinyl version will be available in the following colours:

* Black vinyl, unlimited
* Golden vinyl, limited to 200 copies worldwide, only available at Levykauppa Äx
* Dark green vinyl, limited to 200 copies worldwide, available at CMDistro
* Deep blood red vinyl, limited to 200 copies worldwide, only available at EMP
* Mint colored vinyl, limited to 200 copies worldwide, only available Nuclear Blast
* Glow in the dark vinyl, limited to 200 copies worldwide, only available at the official band store

Pre-order 20 Years Of Gloom, Beauty And Despair – Live in Helsinki.

Swallow The Sun

(Image credit: Century Media)

Swallow The Sun: 20 Years Of Gloom, Beauty and Despair – Live In Helsinki

Set One
1. The Womb Of Winter
2. The Heart Of A Cold White Land
3. Away
4. Pray For The Winds To Come
5. Songs From The North
6. 66°50′N, 28°40′E
7. Autumn Fire
8. Before the Summer Dies

Set Two
1. Lost & Catatonic
2. Empires of Loneliness
3. Falling World
4. Cathedral Walls
5. Plague of Butterflies, Pt. II
6. Don't Fall Asleep (Horror, Pt. II)
7. Stone Wings
8. The Giant
9. Swallow (Horror, Pt. I)
10. Here on the Black Earth

Jerry Ewing
Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock, as well as sleevenotes for many major record labels. He lives in North London and happily indulges a passion for AC/DC, Chelsea Football Club and Sydney Roosters.