Floor Jansen on new Nightwish video: It’s unlike anything we have ever done before

Nightwish press shot
Nightwish (Image credit: Nuclear Blast)

Nightwish vocalist Floor Jansen has checked in to let fans know that things are progressing on their highly anticipated next studio album.

In July last year, Nightwish leader Tuomas Holopainen reported that he had written “80 or 90%” of the follow-up to 2015’s Endless Forms Most Beautiful during a Q&A session at the Kitee International Music and Art Festival.

Now Jansen says that the band have been making a new music video for material that’ll appear on their ninth album.

Jansen says: “I’m in Helsinki with Nightwish to make a music video for our upcoming new album. It’s unlike anything we have ever done before and I am enjoying the process of making this very much.

“It’s really something else – and I really can’t say anything more. I know, I’m sorry!”

Speaking during last year’s Q&A session, Holopainen said that he began work on the new record back in October 2017 and that he had been “really excited about writing songs ever since.”

He added: “It’s going to be 10 or 11 songs most likely. We're going to start recording next July, so if everything goes as planned, we're looking at a spring 2020 release.”

Further details will be revealed in due course.

See more
Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.