Arjen Lucassen calls on fans to help choose next Ayreon video

Ayreon's Arjen Lucassen
Ayreon's Arjen Lucassen

Arjen Lucassen is asking fans to help choose a video for Ayreon track The Source Will Flow.

Earlier this year, the band ran a competition for “creative Ayreonauts” to come up with a promo to accompany the song, which will feature on new album The Source.

It’ll launch on April 28 via Mascot label Group and Music Theories Recordings.

Now Ayreon mastermind Arjen Lucassen has checked in with an update – and he’s revealed he wants the music community to pick their favourite video from a list of four.

Lucassen says: “About a month ago we asked the fans to make a video for the atmospheric track The Source Will Flow from the new Ayreon album. We received positive reactions from over a hundred applicants.

“We chose the best artists and they sent us four excellent videos. We felt it would be a great idea to have the fans choose the winner.

“So please check them out and vote for your favourite – I’m very curious! And of course, I hope you enjoy the music as well.”

The videos by Carles Hortola, Nicola Renzi, Beltran Luque and Rafael Ortega can been watched below – with fans encourage to visit Lucassen’s official website to place their vote.

The competition is now live and will run until March 30.

Last month, Ayreron released a lyric video for album track Everybody Dies exclusively with Prog.

Ayreon The Source tracklist

  1. The Day That The World Breaks Down
  2. Sea Of Machines
  3. Everybody Dies
  4. Star Of Sirrah
  5. All That Was
  6. Run! Apocalypse! Run!
  7. Condemned To Live
  8. Aquatic Race
  9. The Dream Dissolves
  10. Deathcry Of A Race
  11. Into The Ocean
  12. Bay Of Dreams
  13. Planet Y Is Alive!
  14. The Source Will Flow
  15. Journey To Forever
  16. The Human Compulsion
  17. March Of The Machines

Nightwish singer Floor Jansen to guest on new Ayreon album

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.