Anette Olzon releases video for incendiary new single Parasite

Anette Olzon
(Image credit: Anette Olzon)

Former Nightwish and current The Dark Element singer Anette Olzon has released a video for her new single Parasite, which you can watch below.

Parasite is taken from Olzon's upcoming second solo album Strong, which will be released through Frontiers Records on September 10. You can see the new artwork and tracklisting for Strong below.

"[Parasite] is about those who create disaster in this world with their lies, schemes, greed and hate, all the while hiding their intentions behind a respectable facade," the singer explains. "Living in a world in chaos with the pandemic, crazy politics, violence, social media behaviour and people venting their opinions upon others all the time is the foundation of the lyrics for this album.”

Strong is the follow-up to 2014's Shine, and is a harder, faster musical offering compared to that debut. More importantly, the new album stakes a claim for Anette’s well-deserved standing as one of the world's top female metal vocalists. “I wanted a much heavier album, yet with strong melodies, and took my inspiration from bands I like such as Dimmu Borgir and In Flames,” she adds.

The music for Strong was written by Olzon together with acclaimed Swedish guitarist and producer Magnus Karlsson. The album has been mixed by Jacob Hansen (Pretty Maids, Volbeat, The Dark Element).

Pre-order Strong.

Anette Olzon

(Image credit: Frontiers Records)

Anette Olzon: Strong
1. Bye Bye Bye
2. Sick Of You
3. I Need To Stay
4. Strong
5. Parasite
6. Sad Lullaby
7. Fantastic Fanatic
8. Who Can Save Them
9. Catcher Of My Dreams
10. Hear Them Roar
11. Roll The Dice

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.