Skip to main content

Anette Olzon reveals new band The Dark Element

The Dark Element cover

Former Nightwish singer Anette Olzon has revealed her new band The Dark Element, created in conjunction with former Sonata Arctica man Jani Liimatainen. Listen to the title track of their debut album above.

The Dark Element is to be released on November 10 via Frontiers Music Sri. The 11-track title also features bassist Jonas Kuhlberg and drummer Jani ‘Hurtsi’ Hurula.

The project was first revealed last year, although no details were confirmed at the time. Olzon said: “I’m so looking forward to this album and I believe it will be a perfect match.”

Liimatainen added: “I’ve always been a big fan of Anette’s voice. When the opportunity to work with her arose, writing and producing an album, I just couldn’t say no.

“The songs are extremely melodic and to the point. My goal has been to write catchy songs with hooks that will haunt your dreams – and I think it’s pretty much ‘mission accomplished.’”

See the album tracklist below.

The Dark Element tracklist

  1. The Dark Element
  2. My Sweet Mystery
  3. Last Good Day
  4. Here’s To You
  5. Someone You Used To Know
  6. Dead To Me
  7. Halo
  8. I Cannot Raise The Dead
  9. The Ghost And The Reaper
  10. Heaven Of Your Heart
  11. Only One Who Knows Me

The A-Z of Nightwish