Watch Spinal Tap bassist’s new video for It Don’t Get Old

Derek Smalls

Harry Shearer, aka Spinal Tap bassist Derek Smalls, has released a video for his new solo track It Don’t Get Old.

It’s the latest song taken from his upcoming solo album Smalls Change (Meditations Upon Ageing) and will launch on April 13 via Twanky Records/BMG. He previously revealed a promo for the title track.

The new video features Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith and guitarist Waddy Wachtel, with the record also featuring guest contributions from Joe Satriani and Steve Vai, Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins, Rick Wakeman, Toto’s Steve Lukather, Steely Dan’s Donald Fagen, Dweezil Zappa and Peter Framtpon.

Smalls has also confirmed a couple of US show under the Lukewarm Water Live: An Adventure in Loud Music banner.

Find details below, along with the Smalls Change (Meditations Upon Ageing) cover and tracklist.

Derek Smalls - Smalls Change (Meditations Upon Ageing) tracklist

  1. Openture (ft. The Hungarian Studio Orchestra)
  2. Rock ’N’ Roll Transplant (ft. Steve Lukather, Jim Keltner, Chad Smith)
  3. Butt Call (ft. Phil X, Taylor Hawkins)
  4. Smalls Change (ft. The Hungarian Studio Orchestra, Judith Owen, Danny Kortchmar, Russ Kunkel)
  5. Memo to Willie (ft. Donald Fagen, Jeff “Skunk” Baxter, Larry Carlton, the Snarky Puppy Horns)
  6. It Don’t Get Old (ft. Peter Frampton, Waddy Wachtel)
  7. Complete Faith (ft. The Hungarian Studio Orchestra)
  8. Faith No More (ft. The Hungarian Studio Orchestra, Todd Sucherman)
  9. Gimme Some (More) Money (ft. Paul Shaffer, Waddy Wachtel, David Crosby)
  10. MRI (ft. Dweezil Zappa)
  11. Hell Toupee (ft. The Hungarian Studio Orchestra)
  12. Gummin the Gash (ft. Steve Vai, Gregg Bisonnette, Jane Lynch)
  13. She Puts the Bitch in Obituary (ft. Richard Thompson, Jane Lynch)
  14. When Men Did Rock (ft. Michael League, Joe Satriani, Rick Wakeman, the Hungarian Studio Orchestra)

Derek Smalls confirmed 2018 tour dates

Apr 14: New Orleans Saenger Theater, LA
Jun 29: Atlanta Symphony Hall, GA

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.