Vola release animated video for atmospheric new track Alien Shivers

Vola have released an animated video for their new single Alien Shivers.

It’s the latest material lifted from the band’s upcoming album Applause Of A Distant Crowd, which will launch on October 12 via Mascot Records/Mascot label Group.

Vola previously shared the tracks Smartfriend and Ghosts from the follow-up to their 2016 debut album Inmazes.

The Alien Shivers video was meticulously created by the band’s bassist Nicolai Mogensen along with Anne Nørkjær Bang. 

Mogensen says: “We’ve been looking much forward to sharing this video for the track Alien Shivers with you. It’s made by just the two of us and almost entirely by hand, so it is indeed a very personal project. 

“We are both happy amateurs in the field of animation, but we’ve put a lot of hours, effort and love into this video, which we hope will shine through!"

Mogensen adds: “The storyline of the video is loosely inspired by a short story by the Argentinian writer Jorge Luis Borges called The Circular Ruins from 1940, in which a mysterious, anonymous man set himself on a task to dream a human being and make it come to life. 

“We think it somehow relates quite well to the lyrics Asger Mygind created for the song, even though we did not intend to make a video that ‘explains’ the lyrics in any way. 

“Another great inspiration is Yuri Norstein’s beautiful 1979 film Tale Of Tales, which sparked our fascination for stop-motion animation in the first place.”

Vola have also released a trailer for the new record, which can be found below along with the video for Alien Shivers.

Vola - Applause Of A Distant Crowd
1. We Are Thin Air
2. Ghosts
3. Smartfriend
4. Ruby Pool
5. Alien Shivers
6. Vertigo
7. Still
8. Applause Of A Distant Crowd
9. Whaler
10. Green Screen Mother

Vola - Applause Of A Distant Crowd

Vola - Applause Of A Distant Crowd
Vola return with Applause Of A Distant Crowd – their second album and follow-up to 2016's Inmazes, featuring the singles Smartfriend, Ghosts and Alien Shivers.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.