Skip to main content

Thunder announce new album Rip It Up

Thunder (Image credit: Jason Joyce)

Thunder have announced the release of their 11th studio album.

It’ll be titled Rip It Up and will launch on February 10 via earMUSIC. It’s the follow-up to Thunder’s 2015 hit record Wonder Days, and will feature 11 new tracks which were recorded earlier this year.

Frontman Danny Bowes says: “After the positive reaction to Wonder Days we were very happy, and it justified the approach we took in the writing and recording.

“We decided to push it further on all fronts this time, to see what happened – and I think it shows in the writing and the individual performances.

“We couldn’t have made this album 10 or even five years ago as we weren’t good enough. We’re really looking forward to playing the new tunes live alongside the more established ones.”

The band have also announced a run of shows across the UK and Ireland throughout March. The 11 dates get underway on the 17th of the month at Manchester’s Apollo.

Thunder's Rip It Up cover

Thunder's Rip It Up cover

Thunder Rip It Up tracklist

  1. No One Gets Out Alive
  2. Rip It Up
  3. She Likes The Cocaine
  4. Right From The Start
  5. Shakedown
  6. Heartbreak Hurricane
  7. In Another Life
  8. The Chosen One
  9. The Enemy Inside
  10. Tumbling Down
  11. There’s Always A Loser

Thunder UK and Ireland tour 2017

Mar 17: Manchester Apollo, UK
Mar 18: Sheffield City Hall, UK
Mar 19: Newcastle City Hall, UK
Mar 21: Leicester De Montfort Hall, UK
Mar 22: Glasgow Clyde Auditorium, UK
Mar 24: Cardiff Motorpoint Arena, UK
Mar 25: Southampton Guildhall, UK
Mar 26: Ipswich Regent Theatre, UK
Mar 28: London Eventim Apollo, UK
Mar 30: Dublin Vicar Street, Ireland
Mar 31: Belfast Mandela Hall, UK

Thunder's Danny Bowes hints at 2017 release

Scott Munro

News editor for Classic Rock, Metal Hammer, Prog and Louder. He’s been at the news desk since 2014 and when not writing, he can be found watching baseball and visiting whisky distilleries.