Skip to main content

System Of A Down’s John Dolmayan recruits Serj Tankian for cover of Bowie’s Starman

John Dolmayan
John Dolmayan (Image credit: Greg Watermann)

System Of A Down drummer John Dolmayan has released a cover of David Bowie (opens in new tab)’s Starman through his These Grey Men project.

The track will feature on These Grey Men’s self-titled debut album, which is set to arrive on February 28, with Starman featuring guest vocals from Dolmayan’s System Of A Down bandmate Serj Tankian.

Speaking about his inspiration for the covers album, Dolmayan says: “While I was driving, I’d put on satellite radio and listen to whatever came on. 

“Often, I’d hear something and ask myself how I would play or arrange it. I actually started to make a list of about 30 songs I might cover someday. I just got inspiration from desert driving and listening to music.

“System Of A Down wasn’t making music at the time, but I needed an outlet for my artistic energy. So, I whittled down the list and reached out to some artists I wanted to work with.”

Tankian also appears on album opener Road To Nowhere, while other guests include Rage Against The Machine (opens in new tab)’s Tom Morello and Avenged Sevenfold (opens in new tab) frontman M Shadows.

System Of A Down will play two shows with Korn, Faith No More, Helmet and Russian Circles at the Bank Of California Stadium in Los Angeles on May 22 and 23. They’ll then head over to Europe for further performances (opens in new tab), including a headline set at the UK’s Download festival (opens in new tab)

(opens in new tab)

These Grey Men: These Grey Men (opens in new tab)
System Of A Down drummer John Dolmayan's These Grey Men project will release their debut album at the end of February. The record will feature guests including Serj Tankian and Tom Morello.

These Grey Men: These Grey Men
1. Road To Nowhere (Talking Heads cover featuring Serj Tankian)
2. Starman (David Bowie cover featuring Serj Tankian)
3. What I Know (Two Door Cinema Club cover featuring Jonathan Dorr)
4. Runaway (Del Shannon cover featuring Franky Perez)
5. Street Spirit (Radiohead cover featuring M. Shadows and Tom Morello)
6. Hung Up (Madonna cover featuring Sirusho)
7. Beautiful Thieves (AFI cover featuring Jonah Perry Nimoy)
8. Rock Bottom (Eminem cover)

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.