Strange New Dawn release video for Ashes To Dust

Strange New Dawn
(Image credit: Strange New Dawn)

Norwegian prog rock quintet Strange New Dawn have released a video for Ashes To Dust. The track is taken from the band's second album Planet System, which is available to stream now and will be released on CD through Death To Music on September 1.

"Ashes To Dust is about how once someone has physically gone from your life, they only still hold a form of existence whilst they are remembered," the band say. "When someone is forgotten, then they die a second time."

Strange New Dawn were formed by former In The Woods and Green Carnation members, brothers Christopher 'C: M' (bass) and Christian 'X' Botteri (guitar) and also feature ExRoyal (vocals), Muld (piano and keyboards) and Sven Rothe (drums). The band released their debut album The Only One in 2014.

The band present an "eclectic mix of progressive metal, aeonic atmospheres and classic prog sensibilities which will appeal as much to fans of their previous bands as to fans of King Crimson and Pink Floyd."

Pre-order Planet Systems.

Strange New Dawn

(Image credit: Strange New Dawn)

Strange New Daw: Planet Systems
1. Heartful of Stranger
2. Eternal World
3. Symbol of Stones
4. Finally Saved
5. Waiting for the Day
6. Masterplan
7. Before the Millennium
8. Sky Creator
9. The Symphony of the Universe
10. Vision and Sight
11. My Confession
12. Into Pandemonium
13. Ashes to Dust

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.