Skip to main content

Southern Empire announce debut album

Southern Empire have announced their self-titled debut album will be released next month.

The Australian outfit were formed by vocalist, keyboardist and saxophonist Sean Timms following the breakup of his old band Unitopia. The record will launch on March 18 via GEP.

Timms tells Prog: “I’m absolutely over the moon that our album is being released by GEP next month. It has been a long road to get to this point, but it has definitely been worth the effort.

“This is how I’ve always imagined the music would sound. The songs sound amazing with powerfully emotional vocals, brilliant and tasteful musicianship – everything a composer could ever wish for.

“We’re currently in rehearsals for our album launch and we’ll be touring the UK and Europe next year. Hope to see you soon.”

The album will come bundled with a DVD featuring bonus material.

Southern Empire tracklist

  1. Show Me The Way
  2. Forest Fire
  3. Hold
  4. How Long
  5. The Bridge That Binds
  6. Dreams & Machines


  1. Forest Fire
  2. Hold
  3. How Long
  4. The Bridge That Binds

Scott looks after Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 25 years in newspapers and magazines and in 2014 joined our news desk, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more. Scott has previous written for the Daily Record, Sunday Mirror, The Herald and IGN.