Sabaton share hard-hitting video for new single Fields Of Verdun

(Image credit: Nuclear Blast Records)

Sabaton have released a video for their new single Fields Of Verdun.

It’s the first material taken from their upcoming album The Great War, which is set for release on July 19 via Nuclear Blast.

Bassist Pär Sundström says: “We chose Fields Of Verdun to be the first single since we felt it represented the album perfectly – a classic Sabaton metal song which we cannot wait to include in future setlists.

“The story of the battle of Verdun is also very representative of the album since it has all elements that identifies with The Great War. 

“Verdun is so much World War One that we decided to hold the first album presentation in this city, inviting journalists from around the world to not just hear the album, but to also understand the story behind it.”

It's a classic Sabaton metal song which we cannot wait to include in future setlists

Sabaton's Pär Sundström

Sundström adds: “It is the first single from the upcoming album even if we just released Bismarck (opens in new tab), but that song is not from the upcoming album. 

“We decided to write Bismarck outside the album since the story does not connect to World War One and also that it was recorded at a different time. 

“The meaning of this song was a tribute to all fans who have contributed over the years by sending us ideas for future songs, please continue with that!”

Earlier this week, Sabaton shared a video of Apocalyptica covering Fields Of Verdun (opens in new tab).

Sabaton began recording sessions for the follow-up to 2016’s The Last Stand on November 11, 2018 – exactly 100 years since the end of World War One, and worked with Jonas Kjellgren over the span of the next three months.

The Swedish outfit have live shows planned throughout the summer, including a headline slot at the UK’s Bloodstock Open Air.

Sabaton: The Great War
1. The Future Of Warfare
2. Seven Pillars Of Wisdom
3. 82nd All The Way
4. The Attack Of The Dead Men
5. Devil Dogs
6. The Red Baron
7. Great War
8. A Ghost In The Trenches
9. Fields Of Verdun
10. The End Of The War To End All Wars
11. In Flanders Fields

Sabaton: The Great War (opens in new tab)

Sabaton: The Great War (opens in new tab)
Sabaton will release their new album The Great War this summer. The band began recording the follow-up to 2016's The Last Stand exactly 100 years after the end of World War One.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.