Korn slip into another dimension for virtual video game concert

Korn (Image credit: Roadrunner Recoerds)

Korn have revealed that they’ll play a virtual reality show inside two video games starting this week.

The band will be transformed into game characters in AdventureQuest 3D and AdventureQuest Worlds for the grand opening of the Battle Concert Arena in the massively multiplayer games starting tomorrow (August 20).

Fans who don’t currently play the titles are urged to download them from Google Play, Apple’s App Store or Steam on PC and create their own character to attend the Battle Concerts.

Each new character will receive a “magical concert ticket” in their inventory, which will teleport them to the event once it gets under way.

A statement reads: “Get in the most brutal mosh pit ever and make video game history! Korn is playing the grand opening of the Battle Concert Arena in the massively multiplayer games AdventureQuest 3D and AQWorlds

“The band will play onstage while you fight monsters, score loot, and hear a new song from Korn's upcoming album The Nothing.

“We're taking AdventureQuest 3D’s multiplayer live events to the next level. Starting August 20, 2019, grab your friends and join fellow players in an unforgettably brutal, monster-filled virtual-rock-concert. Don't forget to pick up all the loot.”

While the event is free to play, an event pack can be purchased which gives the player special Korn-branded items – including a “backstage pass” where you’ll be able to take a virtual selfie with the band.

For further information, visit the Artix Entertainment website.

Korn will release The Nothing on September 13 through Roadrunner/Electra. The follow-up to 2016’s The Serenity Of Suffering will feature the lead singles You’ll Never Find Me and Cold.

(Image credit: Roadrunner Records)

Korn: The Nothing
1. The End Begins 
2. Cold
3. You’ll Never Find Me
4. The Darkness is Revealing
5. Idiosyncrasy
6. The Seduction Of Indulgence 
7. Finally Free
8. Can You Hear Me
9. The Ringmaster
10. Gravity Of Discomfort
11. H@rd3r
12. This Loss
13. Surrender To Failure 

Korn: The Nothing

Korn: The Nothing
Korn return with The Nothing – their first album since 2016's The Serenity Of Suffering. The record features the lead tracks You'll Never Find Me and Cold.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.