Jordan Rudess details new solo album Permission To Fly

Jordan Rudess
(Image credit: Press)

Dream Theater keyboardist Jordan Rudess has shared details about his upcoming solo album, Permission To Fly, which he will release through InsideOut Music on September 6. You can also watch his new video for the track The Alchemist below.

Rudess announced back in February that he had signed a new solo deal with the prog specialist label and that his new album would feature vocalist Joe Payne and drummer Darby Todd (Devin TownsendThe Darkness) as well as Steve Dadaian on guitar, as well as guest guitar solos from Bastian Martinez. 

"The essence of the album is deeply informed by the tumultuous events of 2023-2024, with motifs of peace and anti-violence woven throughout many of the songs," Rudess explains. 

While Rudess has steered the project musically, he's turned to his daughter Arianna for the lyrics on the new album.

"All the lyrics on the album were written by my daughter, Ariana," he continues. "While I enjoy writing lyrics myself, my primary focus tends to be on the sonic quality of the words. For this album, I wanted to delve deeper and offer something that resonated on a more profound and cerebral level. Ari did an exceptional job."

Permission To Fly will be available as a limited CD digipak and gatefold 180g 2LP vinyl (both incl. bonus material), as well as digitally. You can see the new album artwork and tracklisting below.

Pre-order Permission To Fly.

Jordan Rudess - The Alchemist (Official Video) - YouTube Jordan Rudess - The Alchemist (Official Video) - YouTube
Watch On

Jordan Rudess

(Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Jordan Rudess: Permission To Fly
1.The Final Threshold
2. Into The Lair
3. Haunted Reverie
4. The Alchemist
5. Embers
6. Shadow of the Moon
7. Eternal
8. Footstep in the Snow
9. Dreamer
10. Incarnation (Bonus Track)
11. Chopin Fm(Bonus Track)

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.