Crippled Black Phoenix premiere video for atmospheric new track Great Escape Pt 1

Crippled Black Phoenix

Crippled Black Phoenix have premiered their video for atmospheric new track Great Escape Pt 1 exclusively with Prog.

It’s the first part of the title track from their upcoming album, which is set to arrive on September 14 via Season of Mist.

The band previously shared a stream of To You I Give, which arrived last month.

Crippled Black Phoenix's Justin Greaves says: “We wanted to make a video for the song Great Escape Pt 1 because it reflects more than any other song what the album's common thread is: Escaping demons, escaping destruction, escaping humanity and the evils that are done, escaping the rat race and being at peace. 

“As for the video maker, Philippe Blain had already done a superb video for Se Delan and we had to get him on board for this. 

“He saw the message and put it beautifully into visuals. His take on it makes so much sense without being blatantly obvious. 

“We love what he’s done and I hope some folk out there will relate to our common frustrations and desire to escape from it.”

Greaves is joined on the record by drummer Ben Wilsker, guitarists Daniel Änghede and Jonas Stålhammar, bassist Tom Greenway, keyboardist Mark Furnevall, pianist Helen Stanley and percussionist Belinda Kordic.

Great Escape is now available to pre-order through Season Of Mist’s online store.

Crippled Black Phoenix - Great Escape

1. You Brought It Upon Yourselves
2. To You I Give
3. Uncivil War (pt I)
4. Madman
5. Times, They Are A’Raging
6. Rain Black, Reign Heavy
7. Slow Motion Breakdown
8. Nebulas
9. Las Diabolicas
10. Great Escape (pt I)
11. Great Escape (pt II)
12. Hunok Csataja (Bonus)
13. An Uncivil War, Pt. I & II (Bonus)

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.