Anneke Van Giersbergen’s Vuur give studio update


Anneke Van Giersbergen’s new band Vuur have released a video showing them working on their debut album.

The singer unveiled the project in December, calling their material “heavy, melodic and progressive.”

She’s joined in the group – which is Dutch for Fire – by drummer Ed Warby, bassist Johan VanStarum, vocalist Marcela Bovio along with guitarists Ferry Duijsens and Jord Otto.

The lineup formed the backbone of Arjen Lucassen and Van Giersbergen project The Gentle Storm, who released their album The Diary in 2015.

Van Giersbergen says: “We have just finished writing and we’re now in the middle of pre-production in the studio.

“I’ve wanted for such a long time, because we tour so much and see so many countries and cities, to make a kind of concept album about the cities we’ve visited.”

She adds: “Often I have a strong feeling for a city. It can be anything – sometimes I visualise a city as a man or a character, or sometimes something happened in that city and I want to write about that.”

No firm release date has been set for the as-yet-untitled album, but Van Giersbergen previously hinted at a late 2017 launch.

In 2015 Van Giersbergen released Day After Yesterday – a box set containing her first four solo albums under the Agua De Annique name.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.