AC/DC launch audio for Shot In The Dark, confirm Power Up album details

(Image credit: Josh Cheuse)

Right on schedule, AC/DC have launched the audio for new single Shot In The Dark. The band have also confirmed details of their upcoming album, Power Up, which is due for release on November 13. 

The single has been preceded by a teaser campaign that's included short videos, advertisements in local newspapers, and a Dodge commercial. But now it's here, and it sounds just like AC/DC. 

“The title is a little bit cheeky because we all like a little nip [of alcohol] in the night or a few shots in the dark," Angus Young told Rolling Stone. "I was very glad when the record company heard it [that] they felt it was a very strong song and should be the first one that people hear."

To celebrate the album's announcement, several London landmarks were lit up with AC/DC projections, including Marble Arch, The Tate Modern, Battersea Power Station and St.Paul's Cathedral.

Power Up will be released on November 13, and includes the titles Demon Fire, Witch's Spell, Money Shot and Through the Mists of Time amongst its 12 tracks. Full tracklist below.

The album will be available in the usual formats including gatefold 180g vinyl – including a yellow vinyl version exclusive to the AC/DC webstore –but we're especially excited by the limited edition deluxe Power Up box, which is adorned by a button fans can press. Do so, and a flashing neon AC/DC logo lights up while the opening bars of Shot In The Dark blast out of a built-in speaker. Amazing. 

Inside the box is the full CD package, a 20-page booklet featuring exclusive photos, and USB charging cable. To keep Powered Up powered up.

The album was recorded in Vancouver with producer Brendan O'Brien and engineer Mike Fraser, the same team who worked on Black Ice and Rock Or Bust. The band spent six weeks recording in the city before moving to Los Angeles to complete the mix.

"Angus kinda came into this with a lot of ideas and riffs and not too many completed songs,” Fraser told the AC/DC Fans podcast. ”But that was similar on Rock Or Bust. Because him and Malcolm [Young] had written tons of songs before Mal got sick and eventually passed away. So he's got a whole treasure trove of ideas and riffs and all that." 

Power Up is available to pre-order now.

AC/DC - Power Up tracklist

1. Realize
2. Rejection
3. Shot In The Dark
4. Through The Mists Of Time
5. Kick You When You’re Down
6. Witch’s Spell
7. Demon Fire
8. Wild Reputation
9. No Man’s Land
10. Systems Down
11. Money Shot
12. Code Red

AC/DC: Power Up album

(Image credit: Columbia)

AC/DC - Power Up cover

(Image credit: Columbia)
Fraser Lewry

Online Editor at Louder/Classic Rock magazine since 2014. 38 years in music industry, online for 25. Also bylines for: Metal Hammer, Prog Magazine, The Word Magazine, The Guardian, The New Statesman, Saga, Music365. Former Head of Music at Xfm Radio, A&R at Fiction Records, early blogger, ex-roadie, published author. Once appeared in a Cure video dressed as a cowboy, and thinks any situation can be improved by the introduction of cats. Favourite Serbian trumpeter: Dejan Petrović.