Watch Architects bleak, post-apocalyptic video for new single Black Lungs

Architects Press Shot
(Image credit: Ed Mason)

Architects are releasing their ninth studio album For Those That Wish To Exist via Epitaph on February 26 next year, and having given the world a first taste of the new album with the release of Animals in October, the Brighton band have now released a second track from the album, the powerful Black Lungs.

‘Post love, post truth, justice lays bound and black bagged ready for the guillotine,” sings vocalist Sam Carter. ‘We can all plead guilty when they ask ‘Where were you when the gods clipped the wings of the phoenix?’

Speaking to Kerrang! recently, the band said that For Those That Wish To Exist will examine “the biggest issues we face as a civilisation”.

“I have days where I feel motivated to help change things; I have days where I don’t feel mentally strong enough to face it,” admitted Sam Carter. “Because it’s fucking depressing, continually fighting that fight when you feel like the people and the powers that be don’t care. You have to really take care of yourself through this shit, because if you are fighting the good fight, it can be really exhausting.”

The follow up to the band’s acclaimed 2018 album Holy Hell, For Those That Wish To Exist is set to feature guest cameos from Biffy Clyro frontman Simon Neil (on Goliath), Royal Blood’s Mike Kerr (on Little Wonder) and Parkway Drive vocalist Winston McCall (on Impermanence).

“This album was me looking at our inability to change to a way of life that would sustain the human race and save the planet,” says main songwriter Dan Searle. “I wanted to look in the mirror and ask ourselves the question of what are we going to do, as opposed to trying to point the finger at politicians. Change has to start on a personal level. The world has developed a culture of wanting someone else to deal with it, when we need to take our own responsibility. It has to start there.”

For Those That Wish To Exist tracklist:

1. Do You Dream of Armageddon?
2. Black Lungs
3. Giving Blood
4. Discourse Is Dead
5. Dead Butterflies
6. An Ordinary Extinction
7. Impermanence ft. Winston McCall (Parkway Drive)
8. Flight Without Feathers
9. Little Wonder ft. Mike Kerr (Royal Blood)
10. Animals
11. Libertine
12. Goliath ft. Simon Neil (Biffy Clyro)
13. Demi God
14. Meteor
15. Dying Is Absolutely Safe

Paul Brannigan
Contributing Editor, Louder

A music writer since 1993, formerly Editor of Kerrang! and Planet Rock magazine (RIP), Paul Brannigan is a Contributing Editor to Louder. Having previously written books on Lemmy, Dave Grohl (the Sunday Times best-seller This Is A Call) and Metallica (Birth School Metallica Death, co-authored with Ian Winwood), his Eddie Van Halen biography (Eruption in the UK, Unchained in the US) emerged in 2021. He has written for Rolling Stone, Mojo and Q, hung out with Fugazi at Dischord House, flown on Ozzy Osbourne's private jet, played Angus Young's Gibson SG, and interviewed everyone from Aerosmith and Beastie Boys to Young Gods and ZZ Top. Brannigan lives in North London and supports The Arsenal.