Skip to main content

Watch actor Paul Mescal go wild in Claridge’s in Rolling Stones’ Scarlet video

Last month, the Rolling Stones shared their previously unreleased track Scarlet featuring Led Zeppelin guitarist Jimmy Page.

The song was recorded in October 1974 and will appear on the deluxe reissue of the Stones album Goats Head Soup – out on September 4 on various formats, including 4CD and vinyl box set editions.

Now the band have released a video for the track starring Emmy-nominated actor Paul Mescal, who recently starred in critically acclaimed BBC TV series Normal People.

The video was filmed inside London’s Claridge’s Hotel and starts with Mescal’s character saying to the camera: “Hey, Scarlet. I’m a little bit drunk. I’m very sorry, I love you, so I’m going to play a little song.”

He then plays Scarlet and proceeds to tear through the hotel, dancing and drinking and generally having a wild time.

The video was shot during lockdown by directing duo, Us.

Page is joined on the track by Blind Faith’s Rick Grech on bass, and the song follows Criss Cross from the record which debuted in July.

Reflecting on the recording of Scarlet, Keith Richards  said: My recollection is we walked in at the end of a Zeppelin session. They were just leaving, and we were booked in next and I believe that Jimmy decided to stay. 

“We weren’t actually cutting it as a track, it was basically for a demo, just to get the feel of it but it came out well. With a lineup like that, you know, we better use it.”

Mick Jagger added: “I remember first jamming this with Jimmy and Keith in Ronnie’s basement studio. It was a great session.”

Along with a 2020 stereo remix of the record, the reissue of Goats Head Soup will also feature Brussels Affair – a 15-track live album recorded in Belgium on the Stones’ autumn 1973 tour. This recording was only previously available as part of the band’s  “official bootleg” series back in 2012.

In addition, the CD and vinyl box sets will include Goats Head Soup in 5.1 Surround Sound, Dolby Atmos and Hi-Res mixes, along with the Dancing With Mr. DSilver Train and Angie videos.

Also included will be a 120-page book featuring photographs and essays by Ian McCann, Nick Kent and Daryl Easlea, along with four tour posters from 1973.

The Rolling Stones: Goats Head Soup reissue
The Rolling Stones are preparing to reissue their 1973 album Goats Head Soup. Along with the original album, the new version will feature a wealth of bonus content including previously unreleased tracks.View Deal

Rolling Stones: Goats Head Soup Deluxe Edition

CD1 - 2020 Stereo Mix
1. Dancing With Mr D
2. 100 Years Ago
3. Coming Down Again
4. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
5. Angie
6. Silver Train
7. Hide Your Love
8. Winter
9. Can You Hear The Music
10. Star Star

CD2 - Rarities & Alternative Mixes
1. Scarlet
2. All The Rage
3. Criss Cross
4. 100 Years Ago (Piano Demo)
5. Dancing With Mr D (Instrumental)
6. Heartbreaker (Instrumental)
7. Hide Your Love (Alternative Mix)
8. Dancing With Mr D (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
9. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker) – (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
10. Silver Train (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)

CD3 - Brussels Affair – Live 1973
1. Brown Sugar
2. Gimme Shelter
3. Happy
4. Tumbling Dice
5. Star Star
6. Dancing With Mr D
7. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
8. Angie
9. You Can’t Always Get What You Want
10. Midnight Rambler
11. Honky Tonk Women
12. All Down The Line
13. Rip This Joint
14. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
15. Street Fighting Man
CD4 - Blu-ray
Dolby Atmos, 96kHz/24 bit high resolution stereo, and 96 kHz/24 bit DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
1. Dancing With Mr D
2. 100 Years Ago
3. Coming Down Again
4. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
5. Angie
6. Silver Train
7. Hide Your Love
8. Winter
9. Can You Hear The Music
10. Star Star
+ Original Videos: Dancing With Mr D, Silver Train & Angie