Tim Bowness announces new album Late Night Laments

Tim Bowness
Tim Bowness (Image credit: Mark Wood)

Tim Bowness (opens in new tab) has announced that his new solo studio album will be released later this year.

The follow-up to 2019’s Flowers At The Scene is titled Late Night Laments and it’ll launch on August 28 through InsideOut Music.

The record has been mixed by Bowness’ No-Man (opens in new tab) bandmate Steven Wilson (opens in new tab) and mastered by Calum Malcolm, with Bowness and Brian Hulse co-producing the nine track recording which is said bring together “electronic soundscapes, acoustic instrumentation and unexpected rhythms.” 

A statement on Late Night Laments adds: “The emotionally charged and tightly focused album offers a collection of lush, atmospheric songs with a wide lyrical scope making it the most intimate yet universal of Bowness’ solo releases.”

Bowness is joined on the album by guest artists including Richard Barbieri, Colin Edwin, Kavus Torabi and Evan Carson, while the cover art has once again been created by Jarrod Gosling. 

The first single from the album is scheduled to arrive in early July.

Late Night Laments will be released on CD, LP, as a limited edition 2CD digipak featuring five additional studio tracks, and on digital and streaming platforms.

Tim Bowness: Late Night Laments
1. Northern Rain
2. I’m Better Now
3. Darkline
4. We Caught The Light
5. The Hitman Who Missed
6. Never A Place
7. The Last Getaway
8. Hidden Life
9. One Last Call

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.