The Joy Formidable dazzle in video for new track The Better Me

(Image credit: Timothy Hiatt)

The Joy Formidable have released a video for their new single The Better Me.

It’s the latest track taken from the trio of Ritzy Bryan, Matthew James Thomas and Rhydian Dafydd’s upcoming album Aaarth, which is set to arrive on September 28 via Hassle Records.

The band previously launched the singles The Wrong Side and Dance Of The Lotus from the record.

Speaking about the new track, vocalist and guitarist Bryan says: “The Better Me is a song about self-acceptance, living with your mistakes and appreciating how we all make up the whole and have something different to offer. 

“A song of thanks to a loved one and a decision to love oneself.”

The video was filmed in Las Vegas in the early evening and put together by Boston-based creative studio TRLLM, who attempted to capture the feelings of loneliness and hopefulness simultaneously.

The company say in a statement: “We knew we wanted to do something simple and centred around Ritzy’s performance because it’s a very personal song. 

“There’s also this natural defiance in walking forward, pushing forward through these deserted streets in a lonely corner of Las Vegas.”

The Joy Formidable have a handful of live dates planned in the UK over the next few weeks. Find details below.

The Joy Formidable - Aaarth
1. Y Bluen Eira
2. The Wrong Side
3. Go Loving
4. Cicada (Land On Your Back)
5. All In All
6. What For
7. The Better Me
8. Absence
9. Dance Of The Lotus
10. You Can’t Give Me
11. Caught On A Breeze

The Joy Formidable - Aaarth

<a href="" data-link-merchant="Amazon UK"" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">The Joy Formidable - Aaarth
The Welsh trio of Ritzy Bryan, Rhydian Dafydd and Matthew James Thomas return with their first album since 2016's Hitch, featuring Dance Of The Lotus, The Wrong Side and The Better Me.

The Joy Formidable 2018 live dates
Sep 28: Cardiff Spillers Records (in-store performance)
Sep 29: Nottingham Rough Trade (in-store performance)
Sep 30: Bristol Rough Trade (in-store performance)
Oct 01: London East Rough Trade (in-store performance)

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.