Tame Impala recall making debut album InnerSpeaker in new film

Tame Impala
(Image credit: Modular Records)

Tame Impala mainman Kevin Parker has been reminiscing about the band's debut album InnerSpeaker as the album celebrates its tenth anniversary, in a new short film, InnerSpeaker Memories, which you can watch below.

The short film captured in the halcyon days by Matt Say and edited by Alex Haygarth and features never-before-seen footage from the recording of InnerSpeaker at the idyllic Wave House Studio in Western Australia

InnerSpeaker was recorded in 2009 in Wave House with the band at the height of their original psych sound, before leader Kevin Parker took the band on a more exploratory electronica direction with 2015's third album Currents.

InnerSpeaker won Australian Album of the Year at the J awards and Rolling Stone’s Album Of The Year, received multiple ARIA award nominations, was labelled ‘Best New Music’ by Pitchfork.

InnerSpeaker has just been reissued as a deluxe expanded four LP vinyl set to celebrate the album's tenth anniversary. The new expanded deluxe edition of the album features the singles Solitude Is Bliss, Lucidity, Expectation amongst the original album track list, plus a collage of album sketches, an unearthed, side-long jam, new mixes of tracks off the original album, instrumentals and a deluxe 40-page booklet.

Get InnerSpeaker 10 Year Anniversary Edition.

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.