Pure Reason Revolution return with their first album in 10 years

Pure Reason Revolution
Pure Reason Revolution (Image credit: Enrico Policardo)

Pure Reason Revolution have announced that they’ll release their first album in 10 years this spring.

Jon Courtney and Chloë Alper reactivated the band in 2019 after parting ways in 2011 following the release of 2010’s Hammer And Anvil.

They played their first show since returning at last year's Midsummer Prog in the Netherlands, where they performed their 2006 debut The Dark Third in full

Now they’ve revealed that their fourth album Eupnea will arrive on April 3 through InsideOut Music.

The duo say in a statement: “We stuck to our manifesto of no musical boundaries and the result was Eupnea

“We return to a more progressive sound with ferocious guitars, thunderous drums and the stacked harmonies that give us our signature sound. We're excited to begin playing it live.”

The cover art was created by artist Jill Doherty and the album will be released on limited edition CD Digipak, gatefold 2LP/CD and on digital and streaming platforms.

A full tracklist and pre-order details will be revealed in due course.

Pure Reason Revolution have two shows this summer: at Night Of The Prog in Germany on July 17, and at the UK’s Ramblin’ Man Fair on July 18.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.