Pink Floyd get the Gov’t Mule treatment

Gov’t Mule have announced the release of a live Pink Floyd covers album entitled Dark Side Of The Mule.

It was recorded in Boston in 2008, when Warren Haynes and co delivered a three-hour performance of Floyd tracks.

The set is first in a run of archive releases, which the band hope will underline their eclectic approach to music. Dark Side Of The Mule follows 2013’s Shout!, which featured one disc of new tracks and a second featuring guest musicians re-interpreting those songs.

Haynes says: “Each song on Shout! has it its own personality – it sounds like Gov’t Mule but doesn’t sound like anything we had ever done.

“These new archival live releases just further that concept, and allow us to highlight some of our influences as well as how far we’ve come since the first album.”

Dark Side Of The Mule is released on December 8 on standard CD, deluxe 3CD/DVD. A double-vinyl edition follows on January 13. Floyd launched final album The Endless River this week, along with a video for last track Louder Than Words.

Standard CD tracklist

  1. One Of These Days

  2. Fearless

  3. Pigs On The Wing, Pt. 2

  4. Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Pts. 1 – 5

  5. Have A Cigar

  6. Breathe (In The Air)

  7. Time

  8. Money

  9. Comfortably Numb

  10. Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Pts. 6 – 9

  11. Wish You Were Here

Deluxe edition tracklist


  1. Brighter Days

  2. Bad Little Doggie

  3. Brand New Angel

  4. Gameface

  5. Trane / Eternity’s Breath / St. Stephen Jam

  6. Monkey Hill

  7. Child Of The Earth

  8. Kind Of Bird


  1. One Of These Days

  2. Fearless

  3. Pigs On The Wing, Pt. 2

  4. Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Pts. 1 - 5

  5. Have A Cigar

  6. Speak To Me

  7. Breathe (In The Air)

  8. On The Run

  9. Time

  10. The Great Gig In The Sky

  11. Money

  12. Comfortably Numb


  1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Pts. 6 – 9

  2. Wish You Were Here

  3. Million Miles From Yesterday

  4. Blind Man In The Dark

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.