Mothertongue in live Perfect Zero video

Mothertongue (Image credit: Ed Sprake)

Mothertongue have released a video featuring a live performance of their track Perfect Zero.

The studio version appears on their debut album Unsongs, launched earlier this month via Bad Elephant Music.

The live cut was recorded at the Castle Hotel, Manchester, at the album launch event on April 8. It was produced and directed by drummer John Simm.

Bad Elephant say: “With its incisive, intelligent lyrics and first-class musicianship, Unsongs is unlike anything you will have heard in recent years. The music will lead you on a roller-coaster journey of acid jazz inventiveness that’s a big heap of noisy and light, and also includes a lot of brass – because everyone likes brass, right?”

The album is on sale now.

Mothertongue: Unsongs tracklist

  1. King of the Tyrant Lizards
  2. A Poem That The Sky Wrote
  3. Perfect Zero
  4. The Fog
  5. Nautilus
  6. Little Mice
  7. Shango
  8. Waxwing
  9. Funeral Song for the Icarus Worm
  10. Blooper’s Theme
  11. Sidescroller
  12. Starcross
  13. These Hands
Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.