Led Zeppelin’s The Song Remains The Same to be reissued in September

(Image credit: Evening Standard - Getty)

Led Zeppelin’s 1976 album The Song Remains The Same is to be reissued later this year.

The soundtrack to the band's concert film of the same name was recorded at New York’s Madison Square Garden in July 1973, with guitarist Jimmy Page personally overseeing the remastering of the new release, which is scheduled to arrive on September 7 via Atlantic/Swan Song.

The album will be released on CD, vinyl, on digital platforms, as a hi-res 5.1 surround sound Blu-ray and a Super Deluxe box set.

The box set will recreate the embossed cover of the original and will also be the first time the full-length film and soundtrack have been available in the same package. 

Meanwhile, on the 4LP set, Page has changed the track sequence, allowing the 29-minute version of Dazed And Confused to appear in full on one side of vinyl for the very first time.

The Song Remains The Same is the latest release celebrating the band’s 50th anniversary. Earlier this year, How The West Was Won was reissued, while a 7-inch yellow vinyl featuring the Sunset Sound Mix of Rock And Roll and the Olympic Studio Mix of Friends was introduced to mark Record Store Day.

An official 50th anniversary photo book will be released in October by Real Art Press.

The Song Remains The Same Soundtrack

CD & digital tracklist

1. Rock And Roll
2. Celebration Day
3. Black Dog
4. Over The Hills And Far Away
5. Misty Mountain Hop
6. Since I’ve Been Loving You
7. No Quarter
8. The Song Remains The Same
9. The Rain Song
10. The Ocean
11. Dazed And Confused
12. Stairway To Heaven
13. Moby Dick
14. Heartbreaker
15. Whole Lotta Love

Super Deluxe box set contents

• Remastered audio on 2CD and 4 heavyweight vinyl LPs

• 2DVD set of the The Song Remains The Same featuring the full theatrical version of the film plus bonus content, including four performance outtakes that were not part of the original film: Celebration Day, Over The Hills And Far Away, Misty Mountain Hop and The Ocean

• DVD of the full album in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround and PCM Stereo, plus photo gallery

• High-def download card of all stereo audio content at 96kHz/24 bit

• 28-page book featuring band photos and stills from the film and an essay by Cameron Crowe

• Replica of the Japanese program from 1977, previously available only when the film first toured cinemas in Japan

• High-quality print of the original album cover, the first 30,000 of which will be individually numbered

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.