Skip to main content

Joe Perry and Robin Zander collaborate on new track Aye, Aye, Aye

Joe Perry
Joe Perry (Image credit: Getty)

Joe Perry has released an audio stream of his new single titled Aye, Aye, Aye.

It’s taken from the Aerosmith guitarist’s upcoming solo album Sweetzerland Manifesto which will arrive on January 19, with the new track featuring a guest appearance from Cheap Trick vocalist Robin Zander.

Speaking about how the song came together, Perry tells Rolling Stone: “Being friends and fans of each other for 40 years – Robin and I had always talked about writing together.

“I was in Los Angeles working on my newest solo record and Robin was in town with Cheap Trick and called me with an idea for a song. He sang the chorus over the phone which was all he had at the time.

“I dug it and said, ‘Hell yeah, come on up.’ This song turned out to be one of two tracks on the album I hadn’t written the music for before. Robin came up to Sweetzerland and six hours later, Aye, Aye, Aye was born.

“The song moved along as fast as a ride on a Japanese bullet train. In fact, we were able to track it live that night.”

Sweetzerland Manifesto, which is now available for pre-order (opens in new tab), also features guest performances from artists including New York Dolls’ David Johansen, Terry Reid, Zak Starkey and his sons Tony and Roman Perry.

Joe Perry Sweetzerland Manifesto tracklist

  1. Rumble In The Jungle
  2. I’ll Do Happiness
  3. Aye, Aye, Aye
  4. I Wanna Roll
  5. Sick & Tired
  6. Haberdasher Blues
  7. Spanish Sushi
  8. Eve Of Destruction
  9. I’m Going Crazy
  10. Won’t Let Me Go

Aerosmith farewell? ‘We changed our minds’ says Joe Perry

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.