David Cross releases new album Crossing The Tracks

David Cross - Crossing The Tracks

1. White Bird (w/Sonja Kraushofer)
2. Kalahari Fantasy
3. For What It's Worth (w/Anne-Marie Hurst)
4. Prince Of Darkness
5. Love Me (w/Ofra Haza)
6. Into The Oblique
7. The Light Inside Me (w/Kimberly Freeman)
8. Shifting Sands
9. Hero Of Kingdom (w/Marion Küchenmeister)
10. Hallelujah
11. The Key (w/Ofra Haza)
12. Shadows Do Know (w/Eva O)

David Cross has released a brand new album titled Crossing The Tracks.

The former King Crimson violinist has teamed up with a variety of vocalists for the record, including Sonja Kraushofer, Anne-Marie Hurst, Ofra Haza, Kimberly Freeman, Marion Küchenmeister and Eva O.

Cross says: “Crossing The Tracks is an exciting new departure for me. 

“Cleopatra Records and producer Jurgen Engler presented me with 12 tracks and gave me free reign to play on all of them, hence 'crossing the tracks.'

“This was an unusual situation for me as I am generally composer, performer and producer – albeit in collaboration with other band members, and I wasn't sure how I would fare as a 'session' player.

“However the lure of artistic freedom and a new musical challenge was too strong to resist.”

Cross continues: “I wanted to stay true to the existing compositions and performances by the other artists and yet create an impact on the music by adding melody, string parts and solos. 

“I surprised myself by having real fun doing this – I just had to play the violin and follow my instincts – leaving those difficult production decisions to Jurgen!”

Cross adds: “I love the cover artwork – heading for the light at the end of the tunnel without getting derailed!”

Cross is currently wrapping up a run of shows with Italian prog outfit Le Orme and is expected to announce further live 2018 shows in the near future.

David Cross - Crossing The Tracks (opens in new tab)

David Cross - Crossing The Tracks (opens in new tab)
Former King Crimson violinist David Cross releases his latest album Crossing The Tracks, featuring 12 tracks in collaboration with vocalists including  Anne-Marie Hurst, Ofra Haza and Kimberly Freeman.

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.