Bob Mould shares lyric video for explosive new single Forecast Of Rain

Bob Mould has released a lyric video for his new single Forecast Of Rain.

It’s the latest track taken from the former Husker Du musician’s upcoming album Blue Hearts, with Mould debuting American Crisis from the follow-up to 2019’s Sunshine Rock last month.

The song is a response to the moment last month when Black Lives Matter (opens in new tab) protestors outside the White House were tear-gassed to clear the way for US President Donald Trump to pose with a bible outside St John’s Episcopal Church in Washington DC.

Speaking about Forecast Of Rain, Mould says: “As a child, my mother took me to Sunday Mass. I’ve written many songs around religion. In the 2000s, I went back to the Catholic Church for three years – but I did not find my place.

“I recognise the importance of religion for those who believe: the worship, the rituals, the community, loving thy neighbour, following commandments, doing unto others as you would have them do unto you. In short, be nice to people, help however you can, and don’t steal stuff.

“But right now, I’m having a hard time understanding how certain religious sectarians can support the behaviour of those who occupy the People’s House. 

“How can you endorse their disregard for truth? How can you tolerate the incessant vindictiveness? How can you stand by your man while people are tear-gassed to clear a path to the Lord’s House?

“I’m not good at quoting scripture, but I can manage two words: Jesus wept.”

Mould is joined on the new album by bassist Jason Narducy and drummer Jon Wurster, with longtime collaborator Beau Sorenson handling engineering duties.

Bob Mould: Blue Hearts (opens in new tab)

Bob Mould: Blue Hearts (opens in new tab)
Bob Mould returns with his new album Blue Hearts - the bristling follow-up to his 2019 album Sunshine Rock. The record features the lead tracks American Crisis and Forecast Of Rain.

Bob Mould: Blue Hearts
1. Heart On My Sleeve
2. Next Generation
3. American Crisis
4. Fireball
5. Forecast Of Rain
6. When You Left
7. Siberian Butterfly
8. Everyth!ng To You
9. Racing To The End
10. Baby Needs A Cookie
11. Little Pieces
12. Leather Dreams
13. Password To My Soul
14. The Ocean

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.