Trivium to re-release Ember To Inferno debut


Trivium will reissue their hard-to-find 2003 debut album, Ember To Inferno on December 2.

The Florida band’s first record has been out of print for several years. Now it’s to be re-released – alongside a deluxe version which includes 13 additional early versions of songs which were previously unavailable.

Vocalist and guitarist Matt Heafy says: “The purpose of this release is to show the very early beginnings of Trivium – perhaps an era unbeknownst to most listeners of the band. To look back at Ember as the starting point of Trivium becoming recognised worldwide is a staggering thought for me, considering I was 1617 years old during the writing and recording of the record.

“As a kid, I always said the ‘goal’ was to be in a massive metal band. I don’t think I actually knew what it would mean to have fans in different parts of the world, and I still can’t believe people care so much that they actually want to hear the music that pre-dates our years with Roadrunner Records.

“To this day, I am still completely blown away that people are singing words to songs I wrote when I was 16 years old. It’s an amazing feeling.”

Ember To Inferno is available on standard or deluxe CD and vinyl – with the deluxe 5-LP box set versions containing bonus discs Ruber, Caeruleus and Flavus. They can be pre-ordered via Trivium’s website.

The artwork and tracklist can be viewed below.

Trivium are currently touring the US in support of 2015 album Silence In The Snow, with a European tour planned for next year.

Trivium standard package artwork

Trivium standard package artwork

Trivium deluxe package artwork

Trivium deluxe package artwork

Trivium Ember To Inferno tracklist

  1. Inception: The Bleeding Skies
  2. Pillars Of Serpents
  3. If I Could Collapse The Masses
  4. Fugue (A Revelation)
  5. Requiem
  6. Ember To Inferno
  7. Ashes
  8. To Burn The Eye
  9. Falling To Grey
  10. My Hatred
  11. When All Light Dies
  12. A View Of Burning Empires

Ember To Inferno Ab Initio deluxe only bonus tracks

Ruber (On Transparent Red Vinyl for Box Set)

  1. Pain
  2. Thrust
  3. Lake Of Fire

Caeruleus (On Transparent Blue Vinyl for Box Set)

  1. To Burn The Eye
  2. Requiem
  3. Fugue
  4. My Hatred
  5. The Storm
  6. Sworn
  7. Demon

Flavus (On Transparent Yellow Vinyl for Box Set)

  1. Like Light To The Flies
  2. Blinding Tears Will Break The Skies
  3. The Deceived

Trivium tour dates 2016⁄2017

Every Trivium album ranked from worst to best

Former TeamRock news desk member Christina joined our team in late 2015, and although her time working on online rock news was fairly brief, she made a huge impact by contributing close to 1500 stories. Christina also interviewed artists including Deftones frontman Chino Moreno and worked at the Download festival. In late 2016, Christina left rock journalism to pursue a career in current affairs. In 2021, she was named Local Weekly Feature Writer of the Year at the Scottish Press Awards.