Skip to main content

Slayer’s Tom Araya and Kerry King talk The Repentless Killogy in new video trailer

Slayer (Image credit: Nuclear Blast)

Slayer (opens in new tab) are preparing to launch their highly anticipated movie The Repentless Killogy in 1500 cinemas worldwide on November 6.

The film brings together the band’s performance from The Forum in Inglewood, California, on August 5, 2017, with a short film starring Jason Trost, Danny Trejo, Richard Speight, Derek Mears, Jorma Taccone, Jessica Pimentel, Tyler Mane, Bill Moseley and Caroline Williams. 

Described as a tale of “revenge, murder, bloodshed and retribution,” The Repentless Killogy was written and directed by BJ McDonnell, who conceived and directed Slayer’s videos for You Against YouRepentless and Pride In Prejudice.

And in a brand new video trailer, vocalist and bassist Tom Araya and guitarist Kerry King talk about the production and what the trilogy project meant to them.

King says: “I had a blast doing the videos with BJ. I thought it was super cool that we used an actual producer that’s worked on movies. 

“For me, it wasn’t just about a music video – it told a story over three videos. When we first did it, I thought we were just doing Repentless – I didn’t know we had a plan for three videos.”

He adds: “This trilogy is unique to Slayer which makes it even cooler.”

Slayer head out on tour for the final leg of the last-ever tour this weekend – a run of shows which will culminate in two performances at The Forum in Los Angeles on November 29 and 30.

Looking ahead to their final performance together at The Forum, King adds: “It’s a big deal to me because when I was a kid, I’d tell my dad I was going to a friend’s house and wind up at Van Halen (opens in new tab) shows on multiple nights. That was the place growing up."

He adds: “When we were talking about final dates, I’m like, ‘We’ve got to play The Forum. If The Forum will have us, that’s where I want to end.'”

The home versions of The Repentless Killogy will launch on Blu-ray and digital formats on November 8, while the soundtrack from the show will also be available the same day on 2CD, 2LP and via streaming platforms.

Slayer: The Repentless Killogy (opens in new tab)
As Slayer prepare to bring the curtain down on their legendary career, they'll bow out with this new release. Combing live footage with a short film, this is not to be missed.

Slayer: The Repentless Killogy
1. Delusions Of Saviour
2. Repentless
3. The Antichrist
4. Disciple
5. Postmortem
6. Hate Worldwide
7. War Ensemble
8. When The Stillness Comes
9. You Against You
10. Mandatory Suicide
11. Hallowed Point
12. Dead Skin Mask
13. Born Of Fire
14. Cast The First Stone
15. Bloodline
16. Seasons In The Abyss
17. Hell Awaits
18. South Of Heaven
19. Raining Blood
20. Chemical Warfare
21. Angel Of Death

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.