Our Oceans announce "dark" second album

Our Oceans
(Image credit: Our Oceans)

Dutch prog rock trio Our Oceans, who feature members of Cynic, have announced the release new album While Time Disappears on 27th November via Long Branch Records, the follow up to their critically acclaimed self-titled 2015 debut.

The band were formed by  singer & guitarist Tymon Kruidenier (Cynic, Exivious). Joining him on bass and drums are his former Exivious colleagues, Robin Zielhorst (Cynic, Onegodless) and Yuma van Eekelen (Quadvium, Pestilence). You can watch their video for new single Unravel below.

 "Fundamentally, Our Oceans is about an honest and personal portrayal of emotions, thoughts and experiences, at least it is for me," explains Kruidenier. "As such, While Time Disappears conceptually is very much about the past five years of my life. It tells the story of seemingly being in a good place in life, unexpectedly being broken to your core, getting back up and overcoming. It’s a very dark album, in places, but ultimately, it does have a positive undertone. Musically, this translates into an album that’s much more varied than our debut. There’s not only sadness, melancholy and beauty in this album, there’s also a hefty dose of anger and despair in there.

"From the very beginning, when we were still conceptualising the basics of what would ultimately become While Time Disappears, I had a very strong sense of what the artwork should feel like. I pictured a very dark atmosphere with lots of warm reds, accompanied by an art style that would fuse fine art with illustrations that could almost appear in a children’s book. It took me forever to find an artist who operates in that space. Eventually though, I found a brilliant artist called Patrick Atkins. It turned out he loved our music and was incredibly easy to work with. We gave him our music, the lyrics and the album title, and that’s all he needed to create the incredible artwork you see on the cover and everywhere else in the album."

Our Oceans

(Image credit: Our Oceans)

Our Oceans: While Time Disappears
1. Unravel
2. Weeping Lead
3. The Heart's Whisper
4. Motherly Flame
5. Passing By
6. Face Them
7. Your Night, My Dawn
8. You Take
9. With Hands Torn Open

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.