Monster Magnet revisit Mastermind

Monster Magnet have announced plans to release Cobras And Fire (The Mastermind Redux) – a reimagining of their 2010 album Mastermind on October 2.

It follows last year’s overhaul of 2013’s Last Patrol titled Milking The Stars. And frontman Dave Wyndorf says like their previous offering, Cobras And Fire (The Mastermind Redux) will be a complete departure from the original material.

He says (via Henne Music): “I wanted to present these songs in a much stranger and dirtier atmosphere. I’d call it a deranged fusion of garage-psych, fuzz punk and movie soundtrack music.

“It’s almost completely re-recorded and, as in Milking The Stars, I’ve added organ, piano, sitars and more to flesh out a completely new sound for these tunes.”

He says they’ve recorded a Hawkwind/Pink Fairies-inspired cover of The Temptations’ Ball Of Confusion with background vocals by the band’s co-founder Tim Cronin, and adds: “There’s an eight-minute, tripped out sonic adventure entitled I Live Behind The Paradise Machine especially created by mixer extraordinaire Evil Joe Barresi.”

The track takes elements from several Monster Magnet songs and has been transformed into a new, stand alone composition.

Cobras And Fire (The Mastermind Redux) tracklist

  1. She Digs That Hole 2. Watch Me Fade 3. Mastermind ‘69 4. Hallucination Bomb 5. Gods And Punks 6. The Titan 7. When The Planes Fall From The Sky 8. Ball Of Confusion 9. Time Machine 10. I Live Behind The Paradise Machine Evil Joe Barresi’s Magnet Mash Vol.1
Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.