Kansas announce new live album for May

(Image credit: Kansas)

Kansas have announced they will release a new live album, Point Of Know Return Live & Beyond, through InsideOut Music on May 28.

The new album features 22 songs selected from 12 shows recorded in 2019 and 2020 during Kansas’ Point of Know Return Anniversary Tour. The setlist includes the band’s sextuple-platinum album, Point of Know Return, performed in its entirety, as well as classic hits and deep cuts.

“We knew we wanted to release a live album of the Point of Know Return Anniversary Tour," says drummer and album co-producer Phil Ehart. "Being unable to tour for more than a year has given us the opportunity to work on Point of Know Return Live & Beyond and release it for our fans who are missing live concerts as much as we are. When we discussed who would mix the album, we thought the best possible person would be the guy who mixes the band live every night and recorded the shows on the road. Nobody knows better how Kansas sounds live than our front of house engineer, Chad Singer!”

“This live album sounds great,” adds Kansas guitarist and fellow co-producer, Richard Williams. “We wanted to make sure this album captures and represents how Kansas sounds live in concert. Point of Know Return Live & Beyond does just that.”

Point of Know Return Live & Beyond, will be available as a double CD digipak, triple 180-gram vinyl + 2 CD box-set, and digitally. You can view the new album artwork and tracklisting below.

Pre-orders start on March 26.


(Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Kansas: Point Of Know Return Live & Beyond

1. Cold Grey Morning
2. Two Cents Worth
3. The Wall
4. Song for America
5. Summer
6. Musicatto
7. Taking in the View
8. Miracles Out of Nowhere

1. Point of Know Return
2. Paradox
3. The Spider
4. Portrait (He Knew)
5. Closet Chronicles
6. Lightning’s Hand
7. Dust in the Wind
8. Sparks of the Tempest
9. Nobody’s Home
10. Hopelessly Human
11. Carry On Wayward Son
12. People of the South Wind
14. Lonely Wind

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.