Jethro Tull’s Heavy Horses set for 40th anniversary reissue

The Heavy Horses cover

Jethro Tull’s 1978 album Heavy Horses is to be reissued next year to mark its 40th anniversary.

It’s was originally scheduled to arrive on February 9, but has now been pushed back to March 2, and will launch as Heavy Horses New Shoes Edition on 3CD/2DVD via Parlophone Records.

The reissue will include the original album with nine additional bonus tracks – seven of which are previously unreleased – along with a live concert recorded in Berne, Switzerland, in May 1978.

The two DVDs feature the original album, bonus and live tracks all mixed to surround sound by Steven Wilson and Jakko Jakszyk. A 96-page booklet will also be included, documenting the history of the album and tour, along with lyrics, rare photos and exclusive interviews.

Reflecting on the album, Ian Anderson said: “As a child, my big passion was to get off the leash and explore the local wooded and leafy suburbs. So it didn’t suddenly become new in 1977, it was just that the subject matter fitted what I wanted to write about at the time.”

Heavy Horses New Shoes Edition is now available for pre-order. Find the cover art and list of contents below

Jethro Tull Heavy Horses New Shoes Edition


Steven Wilson Stereo Remix

  1. …And The Mouse Police Never Sleeps
  2. Acres Wild
  3. No Lullaby
  4. Moths
  5. Journeyman
  6. Rover
  7. One Brown Mouse
  8. Heavy Horses
  9. Weathercock

Associated Recordings

  1. Living In These Hard Times (Version Two)
  2. Everything In Our Lives
  3. Jack A Lynn (early version)
  4. Quatrain (studio version)
  5. Horse-Hoeing Husbandry
  6. Beltane
  7. Botanic Man
  8. Living In These Hard Times (Version One)
  9. Botanic Man Theme


Live In Concert In Berne, May 1978 part 1 - Jacko Jakszyk stereo remix

  1. Opening Music (Quartet)
  2. Introduction by Claude Nobs
  3. No Lullaby
  4. Sweet Dream
  5. Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day
  6. Jack In The Green
  7. One Brown Mouse
  8. Heavy Horses
  9. A New Day Yesterday
  10. Flute Solo Improvisation / God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen / Bouree
  11. Living In The Past / A New Day Yesterday (reprise)
  12. Songs From The Wood


Live In Concert In Berne, May 1978 - part 2

  1. Thick As A Brick
  2. Hunting Girl
  3. Too Old To Rock ‘n’ Roll
  4. Conundrum
  5. Minstrel In The Gallery
  6. Cross Eyed Mary
  7. Quatrain
  8. Aqualung
  9. Locomotive Breath
  10. Dambusters March / Aqualung (reprise)

DVD 1 - Audio/Video

  1. Heavy Horses full album plus the additional:
  2. Living In These Hard Times (versions 1 & 2)
  3. Everything In Our Lives
  4. Jack-A-Lynn
  5. Horse-Hoeing Husbandry
  6. Beltane
  7. Botanic Man & Botanic Man
  8. Quatrain (stereo only)
  9. Mixed 5.1 DTS & DD surround sound and 9624 LPCM stereo.

DVD 2 - Audio

  • Jethro Tull recorded live to 24 track at The Festhalle, Berne, Switzerland by The Maison Rouge Mobile mixed to 5.1 DTS & DD surround sound and 4824 LPCM stereo
  • Promotional video footage for the tracks Heavy Horses & Moths. and 2 period TV ads

Jethro Tull - Songs From The Wood – 40th Anniversary Edition album review

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.