Jethro Tull's Stand Up expanded box set to be released

Jethro Tull, 1969
Jethro Tull, 1969 (Image credit: Getty)

Parlophone have announced they’ll release Stand Up: The Elevated Edition by Jethro Tull on November 18.

The expanded version of the band’s second album has been remixed by Steven Wilson in 5.1 surround and stereo. The collection offers bonus tracks and live footage from a concert in Sweden, where they opened for Jimi Hendrix in 1969.

It will also feature the original album’s pop-up book artwork and an exclusive 112-page booklet, which includes an extensive history of the album and a track-by-track annotation by Ian Anderson. The packaging can be viewed below.

Anderson recently picked Stand Up as his favourite album, adding: “Because that was my first album of first really original music. It has a special place in my heart.”

Stand Up: The Elevated Edition can be pre-ordered on Jethro Tull’s website.

Jethro Tull Stand Up: The Elevated Edition tracklist

CD1: Stereo Mixes by Steven Wilson

  1. A New Day Yesterday
  2. Jeffery Goes To Leicester Square
  3. Bouree
  4. Back To The Family
  5. Look Into The Sun
  6. Nothing Is Easy
  7. Fat Man
  8. We Used To Know
  9. Reasons For Waiting
  10. For A Thousand Mothers
  11. Living In The Past
  12. Driving Song
  13. Bouree – Morgan Version (previously unreleased)
  14. Living In The Past – Original 1969 Stereo Single Mix
  15. Driving Song – Original 1969 Stereo Single Mix
  16. A New Day Yesterday – BBC Sessions
  17. Fat Man – BBC Sessions
  18. Nothing Is Easy – BBC Sessions
  19. Bouree – BBC Sessions

CD2: Live at The Stockholm Konserthuset (January 9, 1969)

  1. Introduction
  2. My Sunday Feeling
  3. Martin’s Tune
  4. To Be Sad Is A Mad Way To Be
  5. Back To The Family
  6. Dharma For One
  7. Nothing Is Easy
  8. A Song For Jeffery
  9. To Be Sad Is A Mad Way To Be – first show version
  10. Living In The Past – Original 1969 Mono Single Mix
  11. Driving Song – Original 1969 Mono Single Mix
  12. Stand Up Radio Spot #1
  13. Stand Up Radio Spot #2

DVD1: Audio and Video

Steven Wilson remixes in 9624 PCM stereo and DD/DTS 5.1 surround
9624 flat transfer of Stand Up original stereo master tapes from June 5, 1969
9624 flat transfer of original mono and stereo mixes of Living In The Past and Driving Song
Video footage from Stockholm 1969: To Be Sad Is A Mad Way To Be and Back To The Family

Top Of The Progs: Jethro Tull's Living In The Past

Former TeamRock news desk member Christina joined our team in late 2015, and although her time working on online rock news was fairly brief, she made a huge impact by contributing close to 1500 stories. Christina also interviewed artists including Deftones frontman Chino Moreno and worked at the Download festival. In late 2016, Christina left rock journalism to pursue a career in current affairs. In 2021, she was named Local Weekly Feature Writer of the Year at the Scottish Press Awards.