Jethro Tull to headline prog day at Walled Garden Music Festival

Jethro Tull
(Image credit: Assunta Ophale)

Walled Garden Music Festival, which takes place in the salubrious grounds of Tonbridge Castle in Kent, will feature a prog day at this year's event. The day will be headlined by Jethro Tull.

Also appearing on the bill are Lifesigns and Mostly Autumn, while The Pineapple Thief frontman Bruce Soord will perform a solo set. The prog day is on Sunday September 10.

Other days at the festival, which takes place over two successive weekends, are devoted to folk (September 9) featuring headliners The Levellers, Ian Prowse Band, The Travelling Band, Miles Hunt and Heartland Roots Band; a 90s & 00s day (September 16) with Feeder, The Feeling, Starsailor, Talk In Code and David Ford; and a 70s & 80s day (September 17) with Bjorn Again, Heaven 17, Nik Kershaw and Dire Straits Legacy. More bands are to be confirmed, and each day will be opened by local acts.  

Tickets for a prog rock day are priced at £62.50 for adult entry and £27.50 for children, with family tickets available at £137.50. There are also a variety of ticket packages taking in single days, weekends and both weekends.

"For 2023 we are acutely aware of the financial pressures the country is under," say the organisers. "As such we will allow all festival goers to enter the festival with their own food and hampers, should they want to. We will have bespoke food traders at the castle. Bring your own picnic blankets and folding chairs. Let the Walled Garden Music Festival make your summer last longer."

Get ticket for the Walled Garden Music Festival.

Walled Garden Festival

(Image credit: Press)
Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.