Ihsahn announces new album Àmr will arrive in April


Ihsahn has confirmed that his seventh solo album will arrive in the coming months.

Titled Àmr, it’s set to arrive on April 6 and is the follow-up to 2016’s Arktis.

The Emperor mainman is joined on the record by longtime drummer Tobias Ørnes Andersen, while Opeth guitarist Fredrik Akesson guests on the track Arcana Imperii.

Ihsahn says: “It’s just lovely to work with Tobias. I know that he can technically handle anything I throw at him. But, more importantly, when I say, ‘I want this to feel like the vacuum between words in a conversation with Hannibal Lecter,’ he’ll say, ‘Yeah, I get that!’

“For him it’s not about showing off, it’s always about relating to the vibe.”

Ihsahn reports that he first met Akesson in Oslo when he was performing his first solo show supporting Opeth and adds: “Last time in Japan, when we played there with Emperor and Opeth, we were talking about guitars.

“I said, ‘Not to kiss up to you or anything, but you’re absolutely one of my favourite players, so some day I might call you for a guest solo.’ And he said, ‘I’m in!’ He did a fabulous job.”

Pre-order details for Àmr will be revealed in due course. Find the tracklist below.

Ihsahn Àmr tracklist

  1. Lend Me The Eyes Of The Millenia
  2. Arcana Imperii
  3. Sámr
  4. One Less Enemy
  5. Where You Are Lost And I Belong
  6. In Rites Of Passage
  7. Marble Soul
  8. Twin Black Angels
  9. Wake
  10. Alone (Bonus - Poem by Edgar Allan Poe)

Ihsahn’s Guide To Life

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.